If you want to transfer a vehicle title in Florida you must by law transfer the title over to show the new ownership status, when you buy a vehicle in Florida from another person or business.
It is important that this is done immediately at the point of sale, to show who is legally liable for any incidents involving the vehicle such as an accident or a traffic offence. It should be done no later than 30 days after the sale to avoid a late penalty fee.
The seller must transfer the title to the buyer. If the original title has been lost or damaged, the seller should apply for a duplicate before the sale goes ahead.
The seller needs to fill out the Transfer of Title section on the title certificate, which should also have the following information added:
The seller must also submit form HSMV 82050 which removes the seller’s details from being recorded as the owner. Once this form has been filed, the new owner has full responsibility for applying for the registration and title. Until the new owner has done this, they are not legally permitted to drive the vehicle.
In addition to completing the Transfer of Title and filing the form HSMV 82050, there are a few other important requirements for transferring a title in Florida.
If the vehicle title is bought from out of state, a VIN and Odometer Verification must be completed, with the verification coming from a FLHSMV officer, licensed Florida motor vehicle dealer, law enforcement officer or Florida notary public.
Another important factor to remember is to remove the license plates if you are selling the vehicle. You can then transfer the plates onto a new vehicle or if you are moving to a different state, then you would need to surrender the plates to a motor vehicle service center.
The fee for transferring a title in Florida is $75.25 for electronic titles. There is an additional $2.50 fee for paper title transfers. If you are transferring from out of state, the cost could be up to $115, depending on the county you are transferring from.
To transfer a car title in Florida , the seller must complete the Transfer of Title section and the transfer can be completed in the DHSMV office or it can be done online using swift-tags.com if you have all of the required documents.
When you are transferring a car title in Florida, you will require the following documents:
Yes, you are able to complete the title transfer online using Swift-tags.com. This means you can avoid arranging an appointment or queuing to see someone at the FLHSMV office.
You should ensure that the Transfer of Title section is completed and submitted, either by visiting the FLHSMV office or by completing the process online. You also need to take all of the required documents listed in the section above.
To sign over a car title in Florida, the seller must complete the Transfer of Title section on the original title document and submit it at the FLHSMV office or use an online title transfer service.