Registering your vehicle in Texas and renewing it when due is a necessity. Failure to do so can attract mild to severe penalties. The body that manages and controls vehicle registration in the state is the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV). For your vehicle registration with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, you must do it in person. But for your vehicle renewal, there are several options; you can do it in person, by mail, or online with a recognized vehicle registration agency like swift-tags.
Before hitting the road in Texas, ensure that your vehicle is registered with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. Here are the steps to achieve this:
In Texas, you are expected to renew your vehicle registration yearly. Your registration expires on the last day of the month, as indicated on your sticker. For example, if your sticker has 06/22 on it, then your registration is valid until the last day of June 2022 (30th June 2022). The TxDMV will also send you a renewal notice before the expiration date. Unlike the initial vehicle registration, you can renew your registration via different means. However, your vehicle must pass the annual vehicle inspection before you become eligible to renew via any of the means listed below.
Your registration renewal can be done online up to 6 months after it expires or 90 days before the expiration date. If you renew your registration online before receiving a citation for expired registration, you will get a discount of $1. If you want to renew your registration online, there are three options available for you:
The way to check the status of your registration is dependent on the method of application. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles has a tracking tool on their website where you can check when your registration was mailed. It usually takes a maximum of two weeks for the US postal service to deliver it to your mail. Contact your local county office if you have not received it after two weeks.
To renew your registration by mail, send a copy of your Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR), proof of your current liability insurance, the renewal notice, and the necessary fees to the office of your local county Tax Assessor Collector.
You can choose to renew your registration in person by taking your Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR), proof of your current liability insurance, and the renewal notice to the Tax Assessor Collector office of your local county. If you did not get a renewal notice, you could use other alternatives like Vehicle Identification Number, License Plate Number, or the registration receipt from your previous renewal.
Before going in person, be sure to confirm the acceptable payment methods so you won’t have issues when you need to pay the fees.
Swift-tags allow you to renew your vehicle registration without stress. Renewing your registration has never been this swift and easy. You can renew your registration in under three minutes and have a digital copy of your vehicle registration sent to your email.
Renewing your vehicle registration with swift-tags involves three simple steps:
When registering your vehicle, you will be required to pay some fees. The fees will vary depending on your vehicle type. Generally, here are some of the costs you will have to pay before your vehicle is registered.
The registration fee includes the base registration fee depending on your vehicle type and $1 for the operation and maintenance of TeaxsSure (Insurance Verification Project). 100% of your base registration fee goes into the State Highway Fund, which is used to maintain and construct transportation systems in the state. On average, the registration fee is about $52.
The local fee goes directly to your local county. The cost will vary depending on your county. It can range from $0 to $32. Counties may charge a fee of up to $10, which goes into the road and bridge fund. The counties can also charge up to $1.5 as child safety fees used to promote child safety programs like school crossing guards and health and nutrition education. Some counties may also charge an additional fee (should not exceed $20) which they use to fund transportation projects in the county.
You will also be required to pay a vehicle inspection fee of about $7.5. This ncludes the inspection station fee, which will be paid outrightly when you take your vehicle for inspection, and the state’s portion of the inspection fee, which will be paid at the time of registration or renewal.
Processing and Handling Fee
This fee covers the costs incurred in processing your vehicle registration. This includes annual renewal notice, state and county services, and registration stickers. The fee estimate for processing and handling is $4.75.
Special Plate Fee
This fee is only applicable to vehicles with specialty license plates.
This is optional. You can choose to donate any amount of your choice to support Texas Veterans, State Parks, or Donate Life.
Yes, you have a grace period of five days, after which it will be illegal to drive a vehicle with expired registration in Texas. If you continue to drive your vehicle with an expired registration, you must be ready to bear the penalties, which are often heavy fines (double the cost of renewal). When you use Swift-tags for your registration renewal, you will get a printable receipt which you can use as proof that you have renewed your registration pending the time your sticker will arrive.
Yes, you can renew your registration online via swift-tags.com or other valid online means.
The cost of registration renewal in Texas will vary depending on the weight and type of your vehicle. The fee ranges between $30 to $100.
You can register an expired vehicle online, provided it is not more than six months since expiration. Other ways to renew your expired registration are by mail or in-person.
When you purchase a new vehicle, you have a grace period of 30 days starting from the day the seller signs over the vehicle to you. If you fail to apply for title and register your vehicle at the tax office within this period, you will have to pay a late registration penalty fee of up to $250.
Yes, new Texas residents have up to 30 days to register their vehicle.