If you are caught driving a vehicle not registered with the PennDOT or whose registration has expired, you will face the penalty. The penalty could be mild or severe, depending on your previous records. This is why registering your new vehicle and renewing the registration as at when due is essential.
You are not permitted to drive an unregistered vehicle in Pennsylvania. Your vehicle has to be registered with PennDOT (Pennsylvania Department of Transportation) before you can legally drive it around in the state. To register your vehicle, you must do it in person at your local county’s tax collector office. There is no minimum age requirement for registering a vehicle in Pennsylvania. This means a minor can register their car. However, some insurance companies might require you to meet a certain age requirement before providing insurance coverage. So, ensure you check with your insurance provider if you want to register a vehicle in a minor’s name.
To register your vehicle in PA, you will need the following documents:
Once you have all these documents in check, you can then proceed to register your vehicle by following these steps:
If you are caught driving without insurance coverage in Pennsylvania, you will face severe penalties, which may include paying a fine of $300 and having your registration and driver’s license suspended. And once your registration is revoked, you will pay an additional $176 to reinstate it. You should always ensure that your insurance coverage is not expired.
Before the expiration date, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation will send you a renewal notice. Once you get the renewal notice, ensure you begin your renewal process swiftly to avoid facing penalties for late registration in the future. You can renew your registration in person, by mail, or online. Before renewing your registration, you must complete and pass the safety inspection and emission test. After completing your registration, you will get a temporary registration card that you can use within ten days.
Renewing your registration online is the most common option people opt for. It is easier and faster, especially when using a platform like swift-tags. To renew your registration online, you will need the eight digits of your title number, your car insurance information, your license plate number, driver’s license number, proof of insurance, and your odometer reading.
To renew your registration in person, visit your local DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) office. You will need to go along with your renewal notice or a request for registration application and the renewal fees.
If you prefer to carry out your renewal process by mail or if you are out of the state as at the time your registration was due, you can use the mail option. Once you get the renewal notice, respond by sending the required document and payment to this address:
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
1101 South Front Street
Harrisburg, PA 17104-2516
If you did not get a renewal notice, you would have to download the online form and send it alongside other documents and the fees. Also, if you are renewing by mail, the acceptable payment methods are checks and money orders. Credit/debit cards or cards are not acceptable.
It is worth noting that renewal is not the same as a replacement. Renewal is what you do if your registration is expired or about to reach its expiration date. On the other hand, replacement is done when your registration is damaged, lost, or stolen.
Swift-tags allow you to renew your vehicle registration without stress. Renewing your registration has never been this swift and easy. You can renew your registration in under three minutes and have a digital copy of your vehicle registration sent to your email.
Renewing your vehicle registration with swift-tags involves three simple steps:
When registering your vehicle, you will be required to pay some fees. The fees will vary depending on your vehicle type. For common passenger vehicles, the registration renewal fee is $39. Renewal for motorcycles costs $20, and motor-driven cycles cost $9. The renewal fees for tractors and trucks will vary (ranging from $64 to $2,326) depending on the vehicle’s weight.
Generally, here are some of the costs you will have to pay before your vehicle is registered.
It is safe to renew your car registration weeks before it expires to avoid getting pulled over by the police for expired registration.
You can check the status of your vehicle registration, license, and other driver information by contacting the Driver and Vehicles Services Department on 1-717-412-5300.
Yes, you can. If you process your PA registration renewal via Swift-tags, a digital copy of your registration will be sent to your email, which you can print.
To get a replacement copy of your registration should, in case it gets lost, stolen, or damaged, complete the MV-44 form alongside the appropriate fees (only check or money order is acceptable).
Yes, it is. Without insurance, you will not be able to register a car in Pennsylvania. Also, if you are caught driving without an active insurance plan, you will face severe penalties, which may include a fine of $300 having your license and registration revoked. In PA, you must have $5,000 in liability coverage for property damage, $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, and up to $30,000 per accident.
You will get your permanent registration card within ten days. However, if the renewal process was done online via Swift-tags, you will have a digital copy of the registration sent to your email, which you can print out.