If you need to transfer your driver’s license to a Florida license, there are a few steps involved in doing this. If you have an out-of-state license, the process is fairly straightforward compared to if you have an international license. If you have a foreign license, you would be required to take the road test and written test to obtain a US license.
Read more: Driver licenses Florida
If you have just moved to Florida, you are required by law to transfer your driver’s license within 30 days of living in Florida, if you want to drive on roads in Florida.
To transfer a US driver’s license from another state, you will need the following documents:
You will need to take all of these documents to your nearest DHSMV office. It is recommended that you make an appointment, although walk-in appointments will usually be available.
To transfer your license, you will be required to take the vision test and you will have to surrender your out-of-state driver’s license.
You will be given a temporary driver’s license while you wait for your new Florida driver’s license to be delivered through the mail. It will usually take between 2-3 weeks to receive your Florida driver’s license.
Read more: Vehicle registration and tag renewal Florida
If you are just visiting Florida, you are able to drive with a license issued in your country of residence. However, if you move to Florida, you would be required to obtain a Florida driver’s license to be able to drive on the roads.
You are considered to be a resident in Florida if you:
If any of these apply to you, you must obtain a Florida license within 30 days of being considered to be a resident, if you want to legally drive on Florida roads.