Whether you're new to Texas or plan to relocate there, you need to start the car registration procedure within 30 days of arriving to avoid paying fines. To register your car in Lone Star State, you must pass this state inspection. After the vehicle has been checked, you just need to report it and provide certain paperwork to the county tax office.
Although the procedure is not that complicated, it is useful to familiarize yourself with it in detail. This article will help you understand how to register an out-of-state vehicle in Texas by listing the registration steps, necessary documentation, and much more.
1. Get Your Insurance Card
In Texas, you are obliged to provide proof of insurance coverage of at least $30,000 per person injured, up to a maximum of $60,000 for all people hurt in an accident, plus $25,000 for damage to property.
2. Pass the Inspection
According to the Texas driving laws you are required to get your car inspected. You may complete the inspection at any of the Texas-certified safety Inspection stations.
3. Register Your Car - Get the Registration Sticker and License Plates
After your vehicle has been inspected, it's time to receive your license plates and vehicle registration sticker. You must go to the county tax assessor collector's office to do this (there are certain things you must take with you; more on that in the next section).
4. New to Texas? Get Your Texas Driver's License
Within 90 days after relocating to the state, new residents must get a Texas driver's license from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
It is important to note that first-time registration in Texas can’t be done online, so you will have to do it in person at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office. Here’s the list of documents you need to register a car from another state:
Although Texas does not require users to title their cars, first-time registrants must completely fill out the Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U).
The state registration fee for passenger vehicles and light trucks is $51.75, which covers the electronic insurance verification program and other Department of Safety initiatives. The county registration fee varies between $28 and $33, depending on your county. The state portion of the vehicle inspection fee is $30.75, and the vehicle sales tax is $6.25. Additionally, there is a processing and handling fee of $4.75.
The sales tax charge can be as much as $90, or the difference between the previous state's sales tax and Texas' sales taxes.
Swift-tags makes renewing your car's registration in Texas simple and hassle-free. You can do it online in under three minutes and you will get an email with a digital copy of your registration.
Why should you choose Swift-tags?
We sincerely hope that we have answered all the questions you had about this procedure and that, by following our guide, you will successfully and easily complete the car registration process in Lone Star State.
1. How do I register an out-of-state vehicle in Texas?
Your vehicle must pass this state inspection in order to be registered in Texas. When the car has been inspected, all you need to do is report it and submit the necessary documentation to the county tax office.
2. Can I register an out-of-state vehicle in Texas online?
No, unfortunately, according to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, it is not possible to register your out-of-state vehicle online.
3. How much does it cost to register a car in Texas from out of state?
The registration cost for passenger vehicles and light trucks in Texas includes a state registration fee of $51.75, a county registration fee between $28 and $33, a state portion of vehicle inspection fee of $30.75, a Texas sales tax of $6.25, and a processing and handling fee of $4.75.
4. Can I register my vehicle in Texas while out of state?
No, you cannot register a vehicle in Texas while out of state.
5. Can I register a vehicle in texas with an out-of-state license?
Yes, you can register a vehicle in Texas with an out-of-state license, as long as you provide proof of identity and meet other requirements set by the TxDMV.
6. Can I register an out-of-state vehicle in texas with the title with a lien on it?
Yes, you can register an out-of-state vehicle in Texas with a title that has a lien on it.
7. Can you register a vehicle in texas with out-of-state insurance?
Yes, it is possible to register a vehicle in Texas with out-of-state insurance, as long as the insurance meets the minimum requirements set by the Texas Department of Insurance.