Obtaining a driver's license in Florida is relatively easy; most of the steps involved need you to be there in person. You can carry out only the Florida driver's test and the driver's course online if you are eligible. The driver's online course is also known as Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) or the Drugs Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA) course. The driver test can only be carried out after completing your online course.
There are two main categories of individuals who apply for a Florida driver's license, and the application process differs for each category. The two main categories are:
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Florida permits teenagers to obtain a learner's permit when they clock 15. They will then get their driver's license the next year or when they turn 18 provided, they are not involved in any violations, and they meet all of the requirements for a driver's license.
When applying for a learners permit in Florida, here are the steps to take:
In Florida, you are considered an adult when you are more than 18 years old. If you had never had a learner's license before you turned 18, you will need to pass through the steps of getting a learner’s license - take the DATA course, apply at the DHSMV service center with the required documents, pass the designated tests and pay for the license. You can skip all these processes if you previously had a learner's license.
The next step is going for a spin on their test drive ground. It can take place at the Driver License Service Center or a third-party test drive provider. If it is being carried out at the servicing center, you are required to bring your vehicle. Some third-party centers may provide you with a car for the test. When you pass this test, you will have your picture taken and then go ahead to pay a $48 license fee. If you have had a previous learner's license, you will have to submit it before you can collect your driver's license.
The permit test is a combination of 50 multiple-choice tests that are usually carried out online or in person. Only applicants under 18 years old are permitted to take it online; adults must take the test in person. It is also called the DMV test, and its options consist of two wrong options and one correct option.
Of the 50 DMV test questions, 40 are on driving rules and regulations, while the other ten are based on Florida road signs. You must pass at least 40 questions (80%) of the test before you can be allowed to move to the next stage. If you fail the test, there is an opportunity to retake the test with the payment of a $10 retesting fee. Taking the test at a tax collector office incurs an additional $6.25 service charge to the retesting fee.
In conclusion, most of the processes involved in getting your driver's license in Florida require you to appear in person at a Driver License Service Center or other designated third-party centers. The driver's course is available for everyone online, while the Florida driver's test can only be taken online by individuals under 18 years old applying for a learner's license.
Although most of the processes involved in getting a Florida driver's license cannot be done online, for other online activities relating to vehicles licensing and registrations, you can resort to Swift-tags.com online platform to handle your concerns. It allows you to get all you need from your online devices.