There are certain circumstances where you might need a copy of your Maryland driving record, such as if your insurance company requests to see it and for other purposes like checking for violations or providing it to a potential employer.
In our comprehensive guide, we will explain the process of obtaining your Maryland driving record and the information that it includes. Keep reading to learn more!
A driving record is a document that contains information regarding your driving history but there are some different types of driving records, so you should read the following information to ensure that you order the one that you require:
Uncertified driving records are ones that are for personal use, for example, for the driver to see their own records to check when car accidents took place or to see if license points are still on the records.
Certified Maryland driving records are ones that can be used for legal and official purposes.
A Maryland driving record consists of different types of breaking the driving laws:
If you want to check whether your Maryland driving license has been suspended, or why you have a suspended license, you should contact the MDOT MVA. You can visit the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration branch, or you can contact them online or by calling the call center at 1-410-768-7000.
There are a few different options for obtaining your driving record in Maryland:
To get a copy of your driving record in Maryland you can use the MDOT MVA online portal. Within the Driver Services section, you then have the option to request a driving record and then choose whether you require a certified copy or a non-certified copy. You then pay the required fee by credit or debit card and your driving record will be issued.
If you prefer to visit the MVA branch office, you should check where your local office is and make an appointment.
You will be required to complete a form DR-057 Request for Motor Vehicle Administration Record, and show a valid ID and your driver's license. You will also need to pay the appropriate fee ($12 for certified and $9 for uncertified).
To request your Maryland driving record by mail, you will first need to print off the MVA
Request for Record (form #DR-057) and complete the form. Send the completed form along with
a check or money order ($12 for certified or $9 for uncertified) and mail it to:
Driver Records Unit
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
You should receive your driving record copy in the mail within a few weeks.
There are some circumstances where someone may need to request someone else's driving record and in this case, they must visit the MDOT MVA office with the required documents, depending on the circumstances.
This could be a power of attorney, employment application, credit application or court order.
The fee for a certified driving record is $12, and an uncertified record fee is $9.
No, there is a fee for obtaining your Maryland driving record.
When a driver is convicted of a vehicle violation, points will be applied to the driving record. These are the actions taken by the MVA:
Accumulating points can lead to driver's license suspension, so drivers must avoid accumulating any more points to avoid suspension. Completing a Driver Improvement Program can help improve the driving record, and points will automatically get expunged when due to come off the records.
Yes, drivers with violations and points on their licenses will often have to pay higher insurance premiums. This is because insurance companies identify them as higher-risk drivers. Insurers will request to see a certified copy of driving records to assess whether to insure drivers and whether any conditions are applied to the insurance coverage.
Motor Vehicle Administration, 6601 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21062, Room. 145.
MVA Customer Service Center:
If you’re looking for a stress-free renewal, Swift-tags.com has you covered! Renew your registration in Maryland online, without having to take a trip to the Department of Motor Services and submit the documents yourself. Swift-Tags will provide you with email or chat support in English or Spanish throughout this process and you can opt for a 1-year renewal too if you’re looking to sell your car or move to another state.
1. How can I get my driving record in Maryland?
There are three ways to get your driving record in Maryland, by mail, in person or by completing an online form (contact details are listed above).
2. How long do traffic violations stay on your record in Maryland?
Traffic violations stay on your record until they are expunged. 2 years after the violation date, the points will no longer be considered as current points but it can take around 3 years for automatic expungement.
3. How much is a driving record in Maryland?
A certified driving record costs $12 and a non-certified one costs $9.
4. How long does it take for points to come off your driving record in Maryland?
Points are no longer considered current 2 years after the violation date but it can take 3 years for points to be automatically expunged.
5. How long do speeding tickets stay on your driving record in Maryland?
Speeding tickets will stay on your record until they are expunged, which will usually be around 3 years, as long as you have no had another conviction in that time.
6. How long does a DUI stay on your driving record in Maryland?
A DUI stays indefinitely on your driving record in Maryland and cannot usually be expunged.
7. How do I check my Maryland license status?
Contact the MDOT MVA either in person, by calling the call center, or by enquiring online to check your license status.
8. How do I get my Maryland driving record online?
Complete the online form on the Maryland MVA portal, submit your debit or credit card payment and you can get your Maryland driving records online.