How to Renew Your Car Registration in Florida?

How to renew your car registration in Florida

It is a legal requirement to have valid vehicle registration to use a vehicle on roads in the state of Florida. Residents of Florida must ensure that their vehicle registrations are renewed when required, or they will face fines if they fail to do so.

How to start the vehicle renewal registration process in Florida?

After you have completed the initial registration of the vehicle, whenever your registration renewal is due, you will receive a renewal notice to advise when your registration renewal is due.

For this reason, it is very important to update the FLDHSMV with any changes of address or e-mail address, so they can send the notice to the right address. The renewal notice will usually be sent around 90 days prior to the expiry date of the current registration.

There are a few different options for renewing your vehicle registration in Florida:

  • Apply in person by attending the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office
  • Use the online portal
  • Use the smartphone app
  • Apply via mail

Your renewal notice will contain all of the information you need to be able to take the required action. The notice will include:

  • The renewal fees
  • The date the renewal is due
  • Vehicle details
  • The options for completing your renewal

What do you need to renew your car registration in Florida?

If you are renewing your registration by going to the office, you will need to take with you:

  • The registration notice (or registration certificate if you do not have your reminder)
  • Your driver’s license or your Florida ID card
  • Payment method for renewal fees (check with your branch which methods are allowed)
  • Proof of valid auto insurance for your vehicle

For online renewals you will need:

  • License plate number and vehicle registration
  • Your proof of valid auto insurance
  • To pay your renewal fee using an electronic card payment

Completing the renewal online is more convenient for many people and can be completed very quickly, without the need to travel to the office.

Renewing by mail

For renewing via mail you would need to have authorization detailed on your renewal notice and you would send the payment to the address that is provided on the renewal notice.

Registration renewal fees in Florida

The fees applicable to renewing vehicle registrations will vary depending on details such as the type of vehicle and the weight.

Some of the most common vehicle’s registration fees are:

Automobiles (2,500 - 3,499 pounds)$22.50
Automobiles (3,500 or more pounds)$32.50
Trucks (Net weight up to 1,999 pounds)$14.50
Trucks -based on weight (2,000 - 3,000 pounds)$22.50
Trucks -based on weight (3,001 - 5,000 pounds)$32.50

Additional information about registering your vehicle in Florida

There is a legal requirement to replace your license plates every ten years, so as well as organising your registration renewal that year, you will need to order and fit new number plates. When you are due to replace your number plates, this will be detailed in your renewal notice.

Registration renewal fees in Florida

The fees applicable to renewing vehicle registrations will vary depending on details such as the type of vehicle and the weight.

Some of the most common vehicle’s registration fees are:

Automobiles
(2,500 - 3,499 pounds)
$22.50
Automobiles
(3,500 or more pounds)
$32.50
Trucks
(Net weight up to 1,999 pounds)
$14.50
Trucks -based on weight
(2,000 - 3,000 pounds)
$22.50
Trucks -based on weight
(3,001 - 5,000 pounds)
$32.50
Additional information about registering your vehicle in Florida
There is a legal requirement to replace your license plates every ten years, so as well as organising your registration renewal that year, you will need to order and fit new number plates. When you are due to replace your number plates, this will be detailed in your renewal notice.

Texas Driving Test Requirements

What Are the Driving Test Requirements for Texas?

Expired Vehicle Registration in Texas

Driving with Expired Registration in Texas

Driving in Texas as a Tourist

Can I Drive as a Tourist in Texas?

All Information About Driving Laws in Texas

Everything You Should Know About Texas Driving Laws

How to Register a Car Online in Texas

Can I Register a Car Online in Texas?

Texas Driving License Restrictions

Driver License Endorsements and Restrictions in Texas

Expired Registration in Pennsylvania

What Happens If You Drive with Expired Registration In PA?

Registration Violation in Pennsylvania

Is Expired Registration a Moving Violation In PA?

Late Registration Penalty in Pennsylvania

How Much Is the Penalty for Late Registration of Vehicles in PA?

Renew Expired Registration Pennsylvania

How Do I Renew My Expired Registration in PA?

Vehicle Registration Status Pennsylvania

How Do I Check the Status of My Vehicle Registration In PA?

Online Vehicle Registration Pennsylvania

Can I Register My Car Online In PA?

Driving History Records Florida

How to Request Driving History Records Online in Florida?

Enhanced Driving License

Enhanced Driver's License to Fly

Snowbirds Vehicle Registration Florida

Can Snowbirds Register a Car in Florida?

Online Driving License Florida

Can I Get a Florida Driver's License Online?

Late fee for license plate renewal

What is the penalty for late car license renewal?

Pulled Over Expired Tags

What Is a Vehicle Logbook?

All Information About Vehicle Logbook

What Happens if you Get Ticketed or Pulled Over with Expired Tags?

What If Car Insurance Expire

What Happens If a Car Insurance Is Expired?

What is the grace period for expired tags NC

Is there a grace period for expired tags in North Carolina?

Is Car Driving Easy in USA

Is Driving in America Difficult?

What is proof of ownership of a car

How to Proof Ownership of a Car?

Driving with Foreign License in US

How Long to Drive with a Foreign License in the US?

US Driving Tips for Foreigners

Helpful Driving Tips for Foreign Visitors

How To Remove A Lien From A Florida Vehicle Title?

How to Remove a Lien from a Florida Vehicle Title?

How to Replace a Lost Title in Florida

How to Replace a Lost Title in Florida?

How to Quickly Get a Duplicate Title in Florida

How to Quickly Get a Duplicate Title in Florida?

Florida best and worst driving cities

Moving to Florida? Best and worst cities for driving

Florida license plates, temporary tags, specialty and disposal

Requirements for Florida license plates, temporary tags, specialty and disposal

Florida expired tags penalty

Florida expired tags penalty

Get a Florida drivers license as a non resident

Get a Florida driver’s license as a non-resident

Find my title number without my registration

How to insure your vehicle without registration number?

Where is my vehicle registration Florida

How to find my vehicle registration?

Find a vehicle title Florida

What if you can’t find your vehicle title number?

Required documents to drive in Florida

Required documents to drive in Florida

Florida driving test

Florida driving test

Florida traffic laws

Florida traffic laws

Is it safe to drive in Florida

How safe is Florida for driving?

Expired tag and registration Florida

Is a criminal offense driving with expired tag and registration in Florida?

Insurance to register a car in Florida

Car registration insurance in Florida

Driving test moving to Florida

Retake driving test moving to Florida?

Tourist driving license Florida

Driver license in Florida as tourist

Florida marijuana traffic car laws

Marijuana traffic car laws in Florida

Driving tips to survive Florida heat

Tips for driving in the Florida heat

Vehicle registration during the pandemic

Vehicle registration in Florida during COVID-19

Grace period expired tags Florida

When does the grace period begin for expired tags in Florida?

Auto insurance rates

Affecting your auto insurance rates

Verify car title Florida

Check if car title is valid in Florida before you buy

Reckless driving Florida

Reckless driving - worst offense in Florida

Get a jeep title in Florida

How to Get A Title For A Jeep In Florida?

Drivers license Florida

Driver’s Licenses for Florida Teens: What Parents Should Know?

Bill of sale title transfer Florida

What is bill of sale title in Florida?

Car title transfer of a deceased person in Florida

Transfer a car title when someone passes away

Transfer drivers license to Florida

What’s the process to transfer driver’s license to Florida?

Florida DMV forms

Florida DMV forms – What is required?

How to renew your car registration in Florida

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Florida?

First time vehicle registration Florida

Florida State: First-time Vehicle Registration Requirements

Related Articles