Change Car Registration in Georgia

Change registration in georgiaChange registration in georgia

When transferring ownership of a vehicle or buying a new or used vehicle in Georgia, you must transfer or apply for a title and registration. You must also make sure that you have valid car insurance to drive a vehicle in Georgia and a Georgia driver's license or other valid driver's license.

How Do I Transfer my Vehicle Registration From County to County in Georgia?

If you are moving from one county to another in Georgia, you can easily change your vehicle title and driver's license address. If you already have a Georgia license plate, you will not be required to get a new license plate.

You can change your address using online title and registration services or visit your county tag office.

How Long Do I Have to Pay my Car Registration in Georgia?

Georgia law requires you to register your car in Georgia within 30 days of moving to the state of Georgia. New Georgia residents must register their car within this initial registration period or risk penalties if a law enforcement officer stops them.

Before moving to Georgia, you should contact your insurance company to update your insurance details from when you started residing in Georgia.

How Do I Get a Copy of my Car Registration in Georgia?

If you lose your car registration, you should get a copy as soon as possible as Georgia law requires you to keep a copy in your vehicle.

There are several ways that you are able to order a copy of your vehicle registration, including:

  • Visit Georgia's local county tag office to complete the Replacement Registration Certificate (Form MV-5) application.
  • Mail the application for your local county tag office with the payment (check or money order only).
  • Complete the form using an online service for a duplicate vehicle registration. You will need your vehicle identification number or license plate number as proof of ID (driver's license or ID).

Duplicate registration certificates have a fee of $8.

What Do I Need to Change my Address on my Car Registration in Georgia?

If you move address, you must have it changed on your Georgia driver's license or ID card. Once you have updated it, you can then update the address on your vehicle registration using online services.

You will require your:

  • License plate number or VIN
  • Driver's license number or Letter ID
  • Proof of residency (utility bill, lease, deed or closing statement)

Where to Do a Car Registration in Georgia?

To get a new vehicle registration in Georgia you will require a valid Georgia driver's license. Once you have your Georgia driver's license, you can register your motor vehicle and apply for a Georgia title.

You will register your vehicle at the county tag office by completing a MV-1 Title/tag Application and you will need to take proof of vehicle ownership and insurance. You will also need to pay the registration fees and may be subject to Title Ad Valorem Tax.

Some counties will also require emissions inspections, so you should check whether this is applicable before you start the registration process.

If you lease the vehicle, the county tax office will contact your leasing company by mail requesting the submission of your out-of-state title for the issuance of a Georgia title. It may be helpful to have your original lease agreement so that you can provide the leasing company's name and details.

Georgia Vehicle Registration Fees

The standard fee for a license plate registration is $20 for a regular passenger car or lightweight pick-up truck. To replace a license plate, the fee is $8.

Renewing Registration in Georgia

Once you have transferred your motor vehicle registration and updated your address, you should receive a registration renewal notice prior to the expiry.

You can complete your annual registration renewal using online services.

FAQ

How Do I Transfer Vehicle Registration in Georgia?

If you move to Georgia you are required to register your vehicle within 30 days of starting your Georgia residency.

When you buy newly purchased vehicles in Georgia, you must transfer the ownership of the motor vehicle. To transfer a Georgia license plate, you must go to your county tag office.

The tag transfer process is relatively easy, as long as you have completed the vehicle's original valid title with all the required information. If the vehicle is older than 1985, you would require a bill of sale.

The manufacturer's certificate can be used if you do not have the title. Vehicle registrations are transferred using the Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application.

How Much Does it Cost to Transfer Registration to Georgia?

The fee for transferring registration in Georgia is $20 and the title fee is $18.

Do I Have to Change my Car Registration if I Move to Georgia?

Yes, if you move to Georgia from another state, you will require a Georgia driver's license and you will be required by law to obtain a Georgia registration.

You will have 30 days to change your car registration when you move to Georgia; failure to do so could result in a penalty.

Do All GA Counties Have the Same Requirements for Vehicle Registration?

A number of counties in Georgia require emissions inspection for vehicles manufactured over three years ago. They are:

Clayton, Cherokee County, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnet, Henry, Paulding and Rockdale.

You will require proof that the motor vehicle passed inspection before you are able to register your car. A vehicle inspection can be completed by any MOT center in Georgia.


Man filling out a Bill of Sale While Transferring Title in Florida

Do You Need a Bill of Sale to Transfer Title in Florida?

Car Pulled Over By the Road in the Forrest

What Are Maryland MVA Flags and How to Remove Them?

Women Texting While Driving a Car

Texas Traffic Tickets

Change registration in Georgia

Change Car Registration in Georgia

How to return license plates in Maryland?

Return Vehicle Tags in Maryland

Register a Car in Maryland From Out-Of-State

Out-of-State Maryland Car Registration

Texas Driving Test Requirements

What Are the Driving Test Requirements for Texas?

Expired Vehicle Registration in Texas

Driving with Expired Registration in Texas

Driving in Texas as a Tourist

Can I Drive as a Tourist in Texas?

All Information About Driving Laws in Texas

Everything You Should Know About Texas Driving Laws

How to Register a Car Online in Texas

Can I Register a Car Online in Texas?

Texas Driving License Restrictions

Driver License Endorsements and Restrictions in Texas

Expired Registration in Pennsylvania

What Happens If You Drive with Expired Registration In PA?

Registration Violation in Pennsylvania

Is Expired Registration a Moving Violation In PA?

Late Registration Penalty in Pennsylvania

How Much Is the Penalty for Late Registration of Vehicles in PA?

Renew Expired Registration Pennsylvania

How Do I Renew My Expired Registration in PA?

Vehicle Registration Status Pennsylvania

How Do I Check the Status of My Vehicle Registration In PA?

Online Vehicle Registration Pennsylvania

Can I Register My Car Online In PA?

Driving History Records Florida

How to Request Driving History Records Online in Florida?

Enhanced Driving License

Enhanced Driver's License to Fly

Snowbirds Vehicle Registration Florida

Can Snowbirds Register a Car in Florida?

Online Driving License Florida

Can I Get a Florida Driver's License Online?

Late fee for license plate renewal

What is the penalty for late car license renewal?

Pulled Over Expired Tags

What Is a Vehicle Logbook?

All Information About Vehicle Logbook

What Happens if you Get Ticketed or Pulled Over with Expired Tags?

What If Car Insurance Expire

What Happens If a Car Insurance Is Expired?

What is the grace period for expired tags NC

Is there a grace period for expired tags in North Carolina?

Is Car Driving Easy in USA

Is Driving in America Difficult?

What is proof of ownership of a car

How to Proof Ownership of a Car?

Driving with Foreign License in US

How Long to Drive with a Foreign License in the US?

US Driving Tips for Foreigners

Helpful Driving Tips for Foreign Visitors

How To Remove A Lien From A Florida Vehicle Title?

How to Remove a Lien from a Florida Vehicle Title?

How to Replace a Lost Title in Florida

How to Replace a Lost Title in Florida?

How to Quickly Get a Duplicate Title in Florida

How to Quickly Get a Duplicate Title in Florida?

Florida best and worst driving cities

Moving to Florida? Best and worst cities for driving

Florida license plates, temporary tags, specialty and disposal

Requirements for Florida license plates, temporary tags, specialty and disposal

Florida expired tags penalty

Florida expired tags penalty

Get a Florida drivers license as a non resident

Get a Florida driver’s license as a non-resident

Find my title number without my registration

How to insure your vehicle without registration number?

Where is my vehicle registration Florida

How to find my vehicle registration?

Find a vehicle title Florida

What if you can’t find your vehicle title number?

Required documents to drive in Florida

Required documents to drive in Florida

Florida driving test

Florida driving test

Florida traffic laws

Florida traffic laws

Is it safe to drive in Florida

How safe is Florida for driving?

Expired tag and registration Florida

Is a criminal offense driving with expired tag and registration in Florida?

Insurance to register a car in Florida

Car registration insurance in Florida

Driving test moving to Florida

Retake driving test moving to Florida?

Tourist driving license Florida

Driver license in Florida as tourist

Florida marijuana traffic car laws

Marijuana traffic car laws in Florida

Driving tips to survive Florida heat

Tips for driving in the Florida heat

Vehicle registration during the pandemic

Vehicle registration in Florida during COVID-19

Grace period expired tags Florida

When does the grace period begin for expired tags in Florida?

Auto insurance rates

Affecting your auto insurance rates

Verify car title Florida

Check if car title is valid in Florida before you buy

Reckless driving Florida

Reckless driving - worst offense in Florida

Get a jeep title in Florida

How to Get A Title For A Jeep In Florida?

Drivers license Florida

Driver’s Licenses for Florida Teens: What Parents Should Know?

Bill of sale title transfer Florida

What is bill of sale title in Florida?

Car title transfer of a deceased person in Florida

Transfer a car title when someone passes away

Transfer drivers license to Florida

What’s the process to transfer driver’s license to Florida?

Florida DMV forms

Florida DMV forms – What is required?

How to renew your car registration in Florida

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Florida?

First time vehicle registration Florida

Florida State: First-time Vehicle Registration Requirements

Related Articles