Photo by Harley-Davidson on Unsplash
If you are bringing a motorcycle into Florida or are buying one in this state, it is important to make sure you follow the correct motorcycle registration process, including paying the correct registration fees. The state of Florida requires that any motor vehicle be registered with the Florida DMV. Having an expired registration is a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 60 days in jail.
To avoid any legl issues, this article will everything you need to know about the Florida motorcycle registration process so you can complete it properly and hassle free.
The process for registering a motorcycle in Florida is slightly different depending on the circumstances. If you are moving to Florida and bringing your existing motorcycle, the process is slightly different from buying a new motorcycle. Also, whether you buy from a dealership or a private seller will also determine which process you need to follow.
It is important that you follow the correct process required by the Florida DMV to ensure that your motorcycle is legally registered.
If you buy a motorcycle from a Florida dealership, the dealer will usually complete the registration process for you. The dealer has 30 days to complete the title and registration documentation for you, so that you have the title in your name and a valid motorcycle registration certificate. The dealer will complete the paperwork for the vehicle and your permanent title and registration documents will be sent to you by mail.
Buying a motorcycle from a private seller is a little different, as you will need to complete the paperwork by yourself. To complete the registration you will need to go to the local tax collector's office with:
To complete the motorcycle registration process, for the initial registration you will need:
If you have purchased the vehicle from a private seller, you will also require the additional documents listed in the previous section.
If there is no original title document, you should request a duplicate title from the Florida DMV. You cannot register a motorcycle for on-road use without a title, so it is important to get the title document from the seller when you buy a new motorcycle so that you can complete the title application to obtain a new title.
If you are new to the Sunshine State and are bringing an out-of-state motorcycle into Florida, the first thing you need to do is to apply for an FL motorcycle license. You will also require a VIN and odometer inspection which will need to be completed by either a police officer, car dealer or certified DMV inspector.
The next step is to take the required documents to your local Florida tax collector's office:
Technically, motorcycle insurance is not required but you must be able to prove you are financially responsible in the event that you cause an accident. Also, keep in mind that Florida is unsafe for driving; in fact, it is considered one of the most dangerous states to drive in, so getting insurance is a smart thing to do.
Taking out liability insurance is the best way to ensure you meet Florida motorcycle insurance requirements. You should have a minimum cover of:
Once you have completed the motorcycle registration process and paid the registration taxes, you will be able to get your Florida license plates. The license plates will have a sticker in the upper right corner, which displays the valid registration dates. You will need to obtain new stickers for the license plates each year when you renew the motorcycle registration.
If you are buying a motorcycle from a dealer, they should arrange for the license plates to be obtained. If you are buying from a private seller and you do. not have n existing license plate in Florida to transfer to a new bike, motorcycle drivers will need to go to a motor vehicle service center for the initial registration to obtain the license plates.
Once you have completed the initial registration of your motorcycle, you will be able to do your future registration renewals online. By Florida law, your license plate stickers must always be valid to avoid traffic tickets or late fees. Motorcycles can be registered for periods of 1 or 2 years and you can renew the registration up to 3 months before the expiration date.
Renewing your motorcycle registration is fast and simple with Swift-tags.com. The easy online process allows you to avoid queuing at the DMV office and includes automated online checks to validate data input. You can renew your registration for most types of motor vehicles at Swift-tags.com.
You will get a digital copy of the vehicle registration sent directly to your mail, and in case you encounter any issues or have any questions, you can reach out to the platform’s excellent customer support services, provided in English and Spanish.
1. Do you need a motorcycle license to register a motorcycle in Florida?
Yes, the first time you register your motorcycle you will need to have a motorcycle license.
2. Can I ride a motorcycle without a license plate in Florida?
No, you can’t. The law requires motorcycles to have valid license plates to ride in Florida.
3. Can I renew my motorcycle registration online in Florida?
Yes, it is very easy to renew your motorcycle registration using online services such as Swift-tags.com
4. What should I do If my motorcycle license plate is lost or damaged?
If your motorcycle license plate gets lost or damaged, you will need to request a replacement from your local county license plate agency. You will need: