Florida State: First-time Vehicle Registration Requirements

First time vehicle registration Florida

It is a legal requirement to have valid vehicle registration to drive on Florida roads. If a vehicle has out-of-state registrations, and the owner of the vehicle moves to Florida, they must register the vehicle in Florida within 10 days of establishing residency. This is also a requirement for people who are employed in Florida or place children in a public school in Florida.

In order to complete the registration to operate their vehicle on Florida roads, vehicle owners must do the following:

  • The metal number plate must be attached in the designated area and must match the number on the registration and decal.
  • The driver of the motor vehicle must carry a registration certificate, or have it stored in the car at all times.
  • The decal (sticker provided by registration office) must be affixed in the designated square at the upper right-hand corner of the Florida license plate.

These three requirements must be met to provide evidence that the required registration has been completed and the applicable taxes and fees have been paid.

Initial Registrations Requirements

There is a fee of $225 that must be paid for initial registrations where the owner has not previously had a Florida registration plate registered in their name for a vehicle previously owned, that they can transfer to a new vehicle.

How to Register a Vehicle in Florida for the First Time?

In order to register a vehicle in Florida for the first time, the owner must do the following:

  • Attend the local service center
  • Provide proof of identity
  • Provide proof of Florida Insurance
  • Provide a completed Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (HSMV form 82040)

As part of the registration process, the vehicle must have a VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) inspection as well as an odometer reading.

Failure to comply with the registration requirements of the state of Florida within the required timescales will result in fines.

Renewing Vehicle Registrations in Florida

Once you have completed the initial registration in Florida, renewing your registration is much easier and straightforward. You can do this using the online portal or app and there is no requirement to attend a Florida Department of Highway safety and Motor Vehicles office (DHSMV).

If the applicant prefers to attend the office in person to submit their renewal, then they are still able to do so. Florida residents can renew the registration for one or two years at a time. You can also use the online portal to order a duplicate registration certificate if the original copy is lost.

When you renew your registration through the online portal or app, you will be required to pay an electronic card fee of $2.00 on top of the renewal fee.

Registration Renewal Fees

The current costs for renewing vehicle registrations in Florida are:

Automobiles (2,500 - 3,499 pounds)$22.50
Automobiles (3,500 or more pounds)$32.50
Trucks (Net weight up to 1,999 pounds)$14.50
Trucks -based on weight (2,000 - 3,000 pounds)$22.50
Trucks -based on weight (3,001 - 5,000 pounds)$32.50

Replacing License Plates

It is also a Florida state law requirement that license plates must be replaced at least every ten years. This requirement will be stated in your renewal notice when it is due to be replaced.

Renewing Vehicle Registrations in Florida

Once you have completed the initial registration in Florida, renewing your registration is much easier and straightforward. You can do this using the online portal or app and there is no requirement to attend a Florida Department of Highway safety and Motor Vehicles office (DHSMV).

If the applicant prefers to attend the office in person to submit their renewal, then they are still able to do so. Florida residents can renew the registration for one or two years at a time. You can also use the online portal to order a duplicate registration certificate if the original copy is lost.

When you renew your registration through the online portal or app, you will be required to pay an electronic card fee of $2.00 on top of the renewal fee.

Registration Renewal Fees

The current costs for renewing vehicle registrations in Florida are:
Automobiles
(2,500 - 3,499 pounds)
$22.50
Automobiles
(3,500 or more pounds)
$32.50
Trucks
(Net weight up to 1,999 pounds)
$14.50
Trucks -based on weight
(2,000 - 3,000 pounds)
$22.50
Trucks -based on weight
(3,001 - 5,000 pounds)
$32.50

Replacing License Plates

|It is also a Florida state law requirement that license plates must be replaced at least every ten years. This requirement will be stated in your renewal notice when it is due to be replaced.

Texas Driving Test Requirements

What Are the Driving Test Requirements for Texas?

Expired Vehicle Registration in Texas

Driving with Expired Registration in Texas

Driving in Texas as a Tourist

Can I Drive as a Tourist in Texas?

All Information About Driving Laws in Texas

Everything You Should Know About Texas Driving Laws

How to Register a Car Online in Texas

Can I Register a Car Online in Texas?

Texas Driving License Restrictions

Driver License Endorsements and Restrictions in Texas

Expired Registration in Pennsylvania

What Happens If You Drive with Expired Registration In PA?

Registration Violation in Pennsylvania

Is Expired Registration a Moving Violation In PA?

Late Registration Penalty in Pennsylvania

How Much Is the Penalty for Late Registration of Vehicles in PA?

Renew Expired Registration Pennsylvania

How Do I Renew My Expired Registration in PA?

Vehicle Registration Status Pennsylvania

How Do I Check the Status of My Vehicle Registration In PA?

Online Vehicle Registration Pennsylvania

Can I Register My Car Online In PA?

Driving History Records Florida

How to Request Driving History Records Online in Florida?

Enhanced Driving License

Enhanced Driver's License to Fly

Snowbirds Vehicle Registration Florida

Can Snowbirds Register a Car in Florida?

Online Driving License Florida

Can I Get a Florida Driver's License Online?

Late fee for license plate renewal

What is the penalty for late car license renewal?

Pulled Over Expired Tags

What Is a Vehicle Logbook?

All Information About Vehicle Logbook

What Happens if you Get Ticketed or Pulled Over with Expired Tags?

What If Car Insurance Expire

What Happens If a Car Insurance Is Expired?

What is the grace period for expired tags NC

Is there a grace period for expired tags in North Carolina?

Is Car Driving Easy in USA

Is Driving in America Difficult?

What is proof of ownership of a car

How to Proof Ownership of a Car?

Driving with Foreign License in US

How Long to Drive with a Foreign License in the US?

US Driving Tips for Foreigners

Helpful Driving Tips for Foreign Visitors

How To Remove A Lien From A Florida Vehicle Title?

How to Remove a Lien from a Florida Vehicle Title?

How to Replace a Lost Title in Florida

How to Replace a Lost Title in Florida?

How to Quickly Get a Duplicate Title in Florida

How to Quickly Get a Duplicate Title in Florida?

Florida best and worst driving cities

Moving to Florida? Best and worst cities for driving

Florida license plates, temporary tags, specialty and disposal

Requirements for Florida license plates, temporary tags, specialty and disposal

Florida expired tags penalty

Florida expired tags penalty

Get a Florida drivers license as a non resident

Get a Florida driver’s license as a non-resident

Find my title number without my registration

How to insure your vehicle without registration number?

Where is my vehicle registration Florida

How to find my vehicle registration?

Find a vehicle title Florida

What if you can’t find your vehicle title number?

Required documents to drive in Florida

Required documents to drive in Florida

Florida driving test

Florida driving test

Florida traffic laws

Florida traffic laws

Is it safe to drive in Florida

How safe is Florida for driving?

Expired tag and registration Florida

Is a criminal offense driving with expired tag and registration in Florida?

Insurance to register a car in Florida

Car registration insurance in Florida

Driving test moving to Florida

Retake driving test moving to Florida?

Tourist driving license Florida

Driver license in Florida as tourist

Florida marijuana traffic car laws

Marijuana traffic car laws in Florida

Driving tips to survive Florida heat

Tips for driving in the Florida heat

Vehicle registration during the pandemic

Vehicle registration in Florida during COVID-19

Grace period expired tags Florida

When does the grace period begin for expired tags in Florida?

Auto insurance rates

Affecting your auto insurance rates

Verify car title Florida

Check if car title is valid in Florida before you buy

Reckless driving Florida

Reckless driving - worst offense in Florida

Get a jeep title in Florida

How to Get A Title For A Jeep In Florida?

Drivers license Florida

Driver’s Licenses for Florida Teens: What Parents Should Know?

Bill of sale title transfer Florida

What is bill of sale title in Florida?

Car title transfer of a deceased person in Florida

Transfer a car title when someone passes away

Transfer drivers license to Florida

What’s the process to transfer driver’s license to Florida?

Florida DMV forms

Florida DMV forms – What is required?

How to renew your car registration in Florida

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Florida?

First time vehicle registration Florida

Florida State: First-time Vehicle Registration Requirements

Related Articles