In Florida, teenagers are able to start learning to drive at the age of 15, although there are a number of requirements such as obtaining a learner’s permit, before they are able to start practicing to drive under supervision.
In Florida the minimum age to get a learner’s permit is 15 and a provisional at 16, but a full license cannot be issued until the driver is 18.
Getting to the age where you are legally allowed to drive a car is a very exciting time for many teenagers. In the US, the age that people are allowed to get a learner’s permit depends on the state. In some states, such as Iowa and Kansas, the minimum age to get a learner’s permit is 14 but in New York, a learner must be 16 to obtain a permit.
Read more: What do you need to transfer your driver’s license to Florida?
The right age to start learning will depend on a variety of factors, such as how confident the teenager is, whether they live in a busy area, what vehicle they have access to and whether they have somebody over 21 who is able to help them to learn to drive.
Driving a car on the road is a huge responsibility and some 15-year-olds might not be ready to take on that level of responsibility so early. It might be easier to do lots of learning on empty car parks or other land where there is no traffic, to get used to driving a car before trying to drive on a road or anywhere near traffic or people.
The first step to getting a learner’s permit is to complete a traffic law and substance abuse (TLSAE) class. Then you go to DMV office with the required documents:
An agent will check through the documents and if everything is correctly provided, the applicant will take a vision and hearing test.
They will also take the Class E Knowledge Exam before a permit can be issued. If the tests are all passed, the learner’s permit can be issued, which enables the driver to drive a vehicle with a licensed driver aged over 21 in the passenger seat.
In order to be allowed to drive while not accompanied by a licensed driver aged over 21, the driver would require a provisional license. They are able to apply for a provisional license once they are 16 and have had a learner’s permit for at least a year. It is also a requirement that they have logged over 50 hours of practice driving, which includes at least 10 hours of night time driving. The other requirement is that there have been no driving incidents.
When the driver turns 18, a full license will replace the provisional license, provided that there have been no driving incidents.
Florida has a graduated driver license guide that has been written to help teen drivers and their parents to understand the steps required. If you need to register a vehicle for the new driver , it can be done online.