Antique motor vehicles can be very stylish and fun to drive but there are some slightly different processes involved in the registration of such motor vehicles. For example, there is a number of benefits including lower registration fees and some favorable driving laws in Florida. In this article, we’ll cover what you need to do to register an antique vehicle in Florida to get the license plates issued.
In Florida, an antique vehicle must be 30 years old to qualify as an antique or classic car. The minimum age is different across other states, so if you are registering a classic car in another US state, you will need to check what the criteria are for that specific state.
You might also hear the term ancient motor vehicle which can obtain special horseless carriage license plates but the registration process is slightly different for these types of vehicles, along with former military vehicles and antique firefighting apparatus.
Registering an antique car in Florida is very similar to registering a standard motor vehicle. You can go to the nearest FLHSMV office to register your antique motor vehicle and have special license plates assigned. You will need to complete the vehicle registration form and the antique license plates will begin with "Antique No. 1".
Once you have completed the registration form and provided documents including a Florida driver's license and proof of Florida insurance for the vehicle, you will need to pay the reasonable fee of $7.50. It costs significantly less to get ancient motor vehicles licensed compared to such a fee for a regular Florida license plate.
The same goes for car registration renewals in Florida - they're pretty much the same for antique vehicles.
To register an antique motor vehicle with the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles you will need the following:
The fee for registering an antique car in Florida is $7.50, which is significantly less than the registration fees for many other types of vehicles. For example, the registration fees for automobiles up to 2,499 pounds in weight have a registration fee of $14.50, while a truck can cost hundreds of dollars to register, but an antique truck is just $7.50 to register.
You can use online vehicle registration services to renew the registration for your antique vehicle and to get a new registration certificate issued. Once you are the registered owner, renewals will be straightforward using Swift-tags.com, by completing the online registration process and paying the applicable fees. Our services include automated online checks to validate data input and we provide excellent customer support services in both English and Spanish.
1. What are the rules for antique plates in Florida?
If you own a vehicle that is over 30 years old in Florida, you can register it as an antique vehicle and have a special license plate assigned to it as the car qualifies as a classic car. This will give you a number of benefits, including cheaper registration fees.
2. What are the benefits of antique plates in Florida?
When you register your car as an antique you will have a specialty license plate issued that starts with "Antique No.1". Some of the benefits of antique license plates include that the registration fee is lower and there are also laws in Florida that are favorable for classic car owners. Getting antique license plates can also increase the value of the car.
3. Does Florida have antique car tags?
Yes, there are special license plates for cars that are over 30 years old and qualify as antiques in Florida. Having such a plate provides a number of benefits including lower registration fees and some favorable driving laws in Florida. Antique tags have a light blue background in Florida.
4. How much does it cost to register an antique car in Florida?
It costs only $7.50 for the registration of an antique car in Florida. This works out cheaper than registering a standard motor vehicle.
5. What do I need to register an antique car in Florida?
If you want to register an antique car in Florida, you will need:
6. Is a 20-year-old car classic in Florida?
In Florida, a vehicle must be 30 years old to be qualified as a classic car, although the minimum age is lower in some other states in the US.